Nars Velvet Lip Glide Set | Review + Lip Swatches

IMG_1156

Happy National Lipstick Day! Any makeup-related holiday makes my heart sing. Lip products are probably the most-neglected part of my makeup routine – I much prefer a quick slather of Aquaphor in favor of extra time to play with eyeshadow.

But, there is something about the NARSissist Velvet Lip Glide Set (available exclusively at Ulta) that called my name. The opportunity to test minis is my favorite way to experiment, especially given my gravitation toward lip products (or rather, lack thereof).

The Set

The set contains six minis, each containing 0.12 oz of product, and it retails for $45 USD. The tubes are the same size as the deluxe lip gloss samples, if you’re familiar with those. Although it’s a summer release, I think there are a number of shades in the set that are great for fall and into the winter as well.

The shade details, courtesy of Ulta, are:

  • Rapture (pink coral)
  • Night Together (rose pink)
  • Californication (pink mauve)
  • Immoral (fuchsia pink)
  • Staying Alive (orchid pink)
  • Burning Love (cherry red)

Formula

The texture thinner than a gloss, but it’s not quite as slippery as a lip oil, so there is some weight to the formula. Because it doesn’t set, I like being able to feel it on my lips so I know it’s within my lip line and not halfway down my chin. I’d liken the Velvet Lip Glide formula to moisturizing, richly pigmented lipstick, but with the convenience of a gloss application. They have a pleasant vanilla scent and a slim doe-foot applicator that enables precise application.

Longevity

With light lip activity (e.g. talking, occasional beverage sips, dainty snacking), I can get about three hours before I lose some of the shine. The tint can go strong for up to four hours before needed a touch-up. The product doesn’t pill on itself, making it easy to re-apply.

Swatches

nars velvet lip glide swatches

Final Verdict

I think this set is a wonderful way to dabble in this hybrid formula. I’m really impressed with the comfort and hydration!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

