Giorgio Armani Eye Tint | #9 – Cold Copper | Review + Swatches

 

armani eye tint cold copper review

Giorgio Armani Eye Tint Eyeshadow in #9 – Cold Copper has been on my wishlist for ages. The long-wearing, liquid-to-powder formula intrigued me, and I’m always looking for shortcuts in my morning routine that allow me to sneak an extra few minutes of sleep.

From Sephora:

What it is:
A long-lasting, tinted formula with the comfort and smoothness of a cream for intense, vibrant eye looks.

What it does:
This innovative formula transforms from liquid to solid, instantly adhering to the eyelid while providing 16 hours of smudge- and crease-proof wear. Formulated with a hold booster, a creamy polymer with glycerine that allows pure color pigments to blend together seamlessly and stay on lids, this tint is infused with a color vibrancy booster, which is enriched with natural pigments and pearls. This unique complex works together to evenly disperse high-density color. This eye tint features dynamic runway-inspired shades that can be used as an eyeshadow or eyeliner, or layer them together for natural to glamorous looks.

So, pretty cool stuff. But does it live up to its claims?

Swatches

Cold Copper is what I’d describe as a sophisticated shimmer, similar to Tom Ford’s shimmer formula. The flecks are more refined, making this a great elevated-but-neutral look for the office.

armani eye tint cold copper
Heavy swatch
armani eye tint cold copper
Blended

And, on the eyes! I wanted to test primer vs. no primer to see how much of the longevity can be attributed to the product itself. On the left, I’ve primed with Milani Eyeshadow Primer and set it with Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder.

I use the second shade from the left, top row, of this Viseart Neural Matte Eyeshadow Palette for the crease shade. It’s super subtle, but it adds just the tiniest bit of definition and depth. Viseart is my favorite matte eyeshadow formula, bar none.

armani eye tint cold copper swatch

armani eye tint cold copper swatch

I skipped liner because I didn’t want to disturb the shadow. One thing to note: the Eye Tint formula dries down SUPER quickly. I’d recommend doing one eye at a time. Because the arm swatches proved to be tough to remove (when this stuff sets, it sets), I used a small flat shader brush to pat the eyeshadow on my lid.

The Verdict

  • Application: Super easy. I think I clocked in at 30 seconds per eye. It’s low-effort for high impact. Although it’s more effort, I preferred the application atop a primed eye because it provided a smoother canvas and minimized some of the fine lines on my lids.
  • Color payoff: Stellar. Two pencil eraser-sized dabs on each lid were all I needed to get a full-coverage shimmer. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it easily covered my eyelid veins/discoloration even on the eye with no primer.
  • Formula: Innovative. Truly, there is nothing like this in my collection that can compare when it comes to longevity. Because the shimmer is suspended in the Eye Tint liquid, there is zero fallout, but you still get that multi-dimensional shimmer look.
  • Cost-to-results ratio: $39 for 0.22 oz of product is not cheap. I didn’t pay full price for this, but I would rebuy at full price because I think the quality is there, I wear eyeshadow daily, and the shade I selected is one I will use. But honestly – don’t pay full price. Plan your purchase around a Sephora, Saks, or Armani Friends & Family sale.

eye-tint-ttoto-beauty

Leave a Reply

