July Favorites | ABH, Viseart, Tom Ford, Estee Lauder, Dior

ttotobeauty-july-favorites

July favorites time! The products I’ve reached for most this month are a mix of old and new favorites, so you’re going to see some serious pan on some of these.

Face

BYTERRY Sun Designer Palette in #2 Light & Tan Vibes

This is my ride-or-die, can’t-live-without-it face palette. I’ve talked about it before. The powders are so smooth and blend out beautifully. From blush to bronzer to highlight, I love that there are six powders that I can mix and match to get my desired look and depth of color. No other bronzer, not even Tom Ford, can compare.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Double Wear was my HG foundation in college, but I strayed once I found Guerlain’s Lingerie de Peau. Then, Guerlain repackaged and changed the formula, so I went on a quest to find something similar. I found my way back to Double Wear toward the end of June, and it’s all I’ve been wearing the month of July. It’s medium-full coverage, but I apply with a light hand, so it never feels heavy or cakey. If you’re struggling with application, I’d recommend a blending sponge or a brush that isn’t too densely packed, like the Real Techniques Sculpting Brush. (The latter works amazingly for foundation of any kind!)

Tom Ford Illuminating Primer

This product is pretty. There is a visible difference in the finish of my base when I leave this step out. It does exactly what you’d think — adds illumination for a glow-from-within type of effect. The scent of this project is…odd. I can’t place the scent, but it’s definitely the same as some industrial-strength acne-fighting product I used in high school. It’s almost…fermented? And, it doesn’t fade until hours later. I can appreciate not camouflaging the product’s scent with something else perfume-y, but sensitive noses, you’ve been warned!

Lips

Kiehl’s Scented Lip Balm #1 in Cranberry

Of course it’s good. It has “#1” right in its name πŸ˜‰ But really, I enjoy the Kielh’s balm as part of my summer routine. It has a lightweight, oily texture, and it’s the first thing I put on in the morning when I’m doing my makeup. I wouldn’t recommend it for nighttime use, howeverΒ – it has too much slip to stay put. The cranberry scent is sweet without being cloying. I think I’d repurchase Jack Black balm over the Kiehl’s once I run out, but I don’t anticipate that being anytime soon – a little goes a long way with the Kiehl’s. (Which is awesome for my wallet…but a challenge for my inner product junkie!)

Eyes

Milani Eyeshadow Primer

This stuff is the best. It’s such a drugstore gem: inexpensive, and an all-around high-quality product that performs even better on my lids that it’s mid-range counterparts (UD Primer Potion, Nars Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, etc.) I used to use Shadow Insurance exclusively, but ever since trying the Milani, I’ve never looked back.

Diorshow Maximizer 3D Triple Volume Lash Plumping Primer + Diorshow Lash-Extension Effect Volume Mascara

These are both sample-size minis. At the rate that my mascara collection keeps getting restocked with minis, I don’t think I’ll have to purchase a full-size tube of any mascara anytime soon. (Although, I am super intrigued by Lash Paradise!)

Diorshow by itself gives me impressive volume and length. Probably one of the best, if not my HG. (It’s hard to play favorites when it comes to mascaras…there are so many I love!) I enjoy how chubby the brush is, but it does make it more difficult to coat the bottom lashes. I always have a detail brush handy for clean-up of the lower lashline.

The primer is quite nice, although I haven’t noticed that my lashes are any more healthy or nourished since I started using it. (The product description claims it can also be applied at night as a “deep conditioner to pamper your lashes” — I haven’t gone that far!) As a regular ol’ lash primer, it works well to add both length and volume, and it layers well with both the Diorshow and every other mascara in my current rotation. It’s an (almost) false lash effect with minimal extra effort.

Viseart Neutral Matte (01) Eyeshadow Palette

Viseart + my lids = a match made in heaven. They’re not as soft as other matte shadows (ABH, Too Faced, Tarte, Lorac), which means a number of things. One, minimal kick-up and very little fallout. Two, they have enough texture to them to blur fine lines on and around the lid. And three, they help absorb oil throughout the day, keeping shadow from pooling/creasing. The colors don’t oxidize or fade, and they’re pretty true to pan on my complexion.

I use the top row every single day. The right two shades are always my base, and I mix the left two shades for my crease.Β I didn’t even realize these shadows had names until I looked it up on Temptalia right before this review. Thanks, Christine!

Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

Okay, fine. I’m using this as a neutral palette. But, at least I can admit it! I do throw a bit of Realgar in my crease when I’m feeling fancy to make my blue eyes pop. The ABH shimmer formula is so well done, and I reach for Primavera almost daily, as evidenced by that gleaming silver speck of pan. The mattes in this palette are great as well, but I still prefer Viseart if I have the option. However, when it comes to travel, this is the only palette I bring, no question!

byterry sun designer palette abh modern renaissance dior tom ford

And, that’s a wrap. Thanks for tuning in for a run-down of my July favorites/most reached for products. I’d love you hear what you’re loving this month! I’m already making my list for the Barney’s Fall GWP event in case the bag is a good one πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “July Favorites | ABH, Viseart, Tom Ford, Estee Lauder, Dior

Leave a Reply

