Worth it? | Artis Brushes + Cleansing Kit Review

artis-brushes-are-they-worth-it-recGood brushes make a world of a difference when it comes to makeup application. Note that good does not necessarily mean expensive. With that out of the way, now let’s talk about some expensive brushes that also happen to be very, very good.

Table of Contents (Click to Jump)

Overview

I own four Artis brushes, plus the cleansing pad and foam. I purchased the Artis Oval 7 Brush on its own, and then I followed up with this kit containing the cleansing products, plus the Artis Oval 6 Brush, Artis Oval 3 Brush, and Artis Linear 1 Brush.

Let’s start with the brushes. Here’s a look at how they rank:

    • Artis Oval 7: This brush is a rockstar. If I had to pick one, this would be it.
    • Artis Oval 6: This brush is okay. The size is great for more precise liquid/cream application. I’m lazy – give me more surface area (Oval 7) to quickly swipe on foundation.
    • Artis Oval 3: This is great for concealer. It’s not a must-have. I like my Sigma P80 better.
    • Artis Linear 1: Pass. It’s okay for liner. I find it awkward to maneuver.

And, here’s the nittier, grittier details, if you’re so interested.

Artis Oval 7

What I love most about Artis brushes is that they give a very smooth, consistent application without absorbing product or leaving any streak marks behind. If you use a beauty sponge because you prefer to sheer out your coverage, you might not be happy with the way the Artis brushes apply. But, if you’re someone who wants to make the most out of every drop of your foundation, these are your brushes! I was worried the Oval 7 was going to be too small for foundation, but it’s perfect. Not so large that it’s tough to wield and get into the contours of the face, but not so small that you spend ten minutes trying to cover your face.


And, here are the details about the rest. Kits are always a gamble! Together, I think they’re worth the sticker price. Separately, I probably wouldn’t see any of these out. But, one key takeaway about all of the Artis brushes in my collection: zero shedding. NONE. NOT A HAIR. In 3+ years.


Artis Oval 6

It will take you ten minutes to cover your face in foundation with this brush. I find the size too small to efficiently apply foundation, but I don’t mind it for concealer, other liquid/cream products, or primer.

Artis Oval 3


This is like a your-fingers-but-better brush for concealer. Like the other Artis brushes, the bristles are so dense that product sits on top of them instead of sinking in. This translates to full coverage and the ability to blend without losing any pigmentation.

However, the Sigma P80 Precision Flat Brush accomplishes the same task. It’s a goodie.

Artis Linear 1


This brush is too much for me. I use it for liner (novel), but it’s not one I reach for daily. It would be great for brows or creating a very precise contour/highlight. But, for my amateur makeup skills, it’s a bit of a dud.

And now, the extras!

Artis Brush Cleaning Pad + Artis Brush Cleansing Foam

The concept here is similar to how you’d use any instant brush cleaner: spray the foam, and then wipe the brush off on the terrycloth-covered cleansing pad to remove excess product. This isn’t a substitute for regular cleaning, but this method will help preserve the life of your brushes and allow for quick color changes.

The foam is a great product. I find myself using it for regular brushes as well because it picks up every speck of makeup and doesn’t leave behind any residue. It’s also quick-drying, and it doesn’t have an overbearing scent like other instant cleaners. Ahem, Cinema Secrets and that alcohol-y vanilla awfulness. Bravo, Artis!

The brush pad is nice to have, but you could just use a towel.

Do I need the Artis Cleansing Set?

I was super worried when I first purchased the brushes that I needed the cleansing set. And, I couldn’t find a straight answer. So, let me answer it for you: no. No, you do not need the Artis Cleansing Set in order to use Artis brushes. But! It sure is handy for keeping things sanitary. And, the less time your brushes spend exposed to water, the longer they’ll last.

Keep in mind that when you wash these brushes, you’ll want to allow plenty of dry time. My Artis Oval 7 takes two full days to dry after a deep cleaning with castille soap. Two! So, I always stagger the washing of my Oval 7 and Oval 6. That way, I have at least one of the two to apply foundation with on any given morning.

Dupes for Artis brushes?

I haven’t tried any. Sorry, I can’t help you there!


I hope you found this overview helpful. If you have any questions, please let me know, and I’ll get back to you ASAP!

Leave a Reply

