WLDKAT Ginger + Kombucha Skin Tonic | REVIEW

WLDKAT Ginger + Kombucha Skin Tonic is described as one part toner, one part serum, and that’s exactly right. Packed with skin-loving probiotics and the antioxidant properties of ginger root, it helps clarify, balance and hydrate.

The Ginger + Kombucha Skin Tonic is a very watery liquid, with a faint ginger smell. (With “kombucha” in the name, I was wondering if there’d be hits of vinegar, but nope, none!) I dispense a dime-sized amount into my palm and press it into my skin, similar to an essence.

The full ingredient list, per WLDKAT:

Water (Aqua), Propanediol, Glycerin, Saccharomyces/xylinum/black Tea Ferment, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Oil, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Glycolic Acid, Spiraea Ulmaria (Meadowsweet) Flower Extract, Caprylyl/capryl Glucoside Glycolipids, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tamarindus Indica Seed Gum, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Tocopherol, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Xanthan Gum, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Olive Oil Polyglyceryl-6 Esters, Yellow 5 (Ci 19140), Red 33 (Ci 17200), Phenoxyethanol.

Product page

I’ve been using it in the evenings after cleansing, although it can be used in the daytime as well. It’s super gentle and makes my skin feel great. I’m looking forward to making my way through the bottle to track longer-term benefits. It took me some time to test it, mostly out of fear of it being too strong! By using it in the p.m., I’m still able to use my other faves (Augustinus Bader and BIOEFFECT) in the a.m. It’s also great to layer on when my skin is feeling a little more congested. The directions say you may notice a temporary “milky” effect, depending on your application, but I’ve never run into that; and if you do, it sounds like it dissipates quickly!

WLDKAT uses 100% post-consumer recycled plastic for their packaging. I really like the composition of the bottle – it’s a flexible plastic, allowing you to squeeze the sides ever-so-slightly to dispense the product. There is a stopper that helps control your pour, too. All in all, a solid design.

This sample-sized bottle was part of the Credo Beauty Credo Clean Starter Set Vegan Collection Box that I picked up earlier this year. The box isn’t available anymore, unfortunately, but I can’t recommend that curation enough! Every item I’ve tried so far has been amazing, and the clean/vegan status is just a bonus. I’m looking forward to checking out more of their curated sets.


Leave a comment