RÓEN 75° Warm Palette | REVIEW

The RÓEN 75° Warm Palette has been on my need-to-try list for ages. Termed “lid illumes” by the brand, the shadows are designed to be used with a brush or with your fingers. 

The first thing I noticed immediately was the texture – all three shimmers are creamy with some grit to them, so it’s helpful to use a finger to place them on the lid in a tapping motion. From there, I use an undyed goat hair brush to buff the edges, being careful to not disturb the product too much while it sets. I’ll be curious to see if/how the texture changes as the palette ages and I start to wear down the top layer of shadow within each pan.

Here, we have a texture appreciation picture memorializing the perfectly smooth surface of J’adore, a beautiful warm terracotta. It’s much more orange than I expected, so I’m excited to see how it will pull against my skin tone and blue eyes. So far, I’ve used the three shimmers exclusively as all-over lid shades, usually setting the foundation for my eye looks first through mattes in other palettes. One thing I really appreciate is that the RÓEN shadows have a pigmented base, meaning you won’t be stuck with just straight glitter if you use them by themselves.

In terms of longevity, a primer is a must if you have oily lids. Without a primer, creasing can start as soon as the 1-hour mark, which is frankly disappointing. With a primer, however, my eye look remains mostly intact throughout the day, although I do have to tap out the creases toward the 6-hour mark.

I’d liken these shadows to the glitter/shimmer shades from Natasha Denona. Both have very soft powder shadows that are verging on a cream formula. The glitter is high-impact and multidimensional, and you can adjust the intensity by applying with a brush (more subdued) or tapping on with your finger (full color and sparkle). They even verge on Pat McGrath territory due to the shimmer impact, although Pat’s shadows are true powders vs. the cream/powder hybrid.


Leave a comment